Honoring a Legacy

Donald and tattoos-1I

In my last blog post I introduced you to Donna Armstrong, a grandmother who has been raising her three grandsons for 19 years. Despite the many challenges she has faced, she has persevered and has been successful in raising  three wonderful young men, including 24-year-old Rickey who is living with a developmental disability. The second time Ms. Armstrong was diagnosed with breast cancer was especially frightening for her 20-year-old grandson, Donald (on right) and daughter, LaKisha (on left).

When my grandma was diagnosed with breast cancer for the second time it was kind of heartbreaking because it was a crucial moment in my life. I was about to graduate from high school. It was very difficult for me to think about the situation and imagine what it would be like if she didn’t survive. I thought about how I could still have her around if something happened to her.  So I thought why not get a tattoo, something she would appreciate, something to keep her legacy going. Therefore, I went and got the tattoo. It hurt a lot but love hurts.”

Donald

Shortly after Donald got his tattoo, LaKisha got hers.

Leave a comment