Interview with Mae

Mae in red chair

Interview with Mae

Beate: Mae, would you please introduce yourself?

Mae: I’m Mae and I love to swim, go to movies, exercise and get massages. I am a kind person and I am very nice to be around.

B: Mae, can you talk about your disability and how it affects your life?

M: I have schizophrenia and autism.The medication (for schizophrenia) makes me hungry but I like to eat healthy. We all have things we need to work on but sometimes I forget about things and people have to tell me what to do instead of me taking the initiative.

B: You will be aging out of high school in November. Are you excited or nervous and what do you hope to be doing?

M: Probably get a job walking or training dogs or working with flowers. I’m excited to be going to job training.

B: Why is it important to you to get a job?

M: Because then if I can buy stuff I’ll be all set. I can buy my own furniture and food. If I can get money I’ll be prepared for the real life

B: When you are ready to move out of your Dad’s home what are your plans?

M: I want to live in a beautiful home with friends and have my own bedroom.

B: Do you think that you will need some support to live on your own?

M: I wil probably need support with hygiene like reminders to brush my teeth and hair and get showered. I know how to cook spaghetti and eggs.

B: Do you have a message that you would like to share with others?

M: That I hope to have a good life.

Leave a Reply

